Is Maltodextrin Halal?

Candies, Chocolate, Caramel, Yummy! The sweet, legit, delicious food ever. Favored by every age and cheap.

However, the sweetness can be dangerous and as Moslem consumers, we need to be concerned of the ingredients contained in the food or beverages. One of the ingredients often used in candy, chocolate, or caramel is maltodextrin or glucose. Maltodextrin covers the product to make it durable and shiny, thus providing an attractive appearance to consumers.

Dr. Suryani, SP., M.Sc, the lecturer of Biochemistry Department, Faculty of Mathematics and Natural Sciences, Institut Pertanian Bogor, the member of Central Halal Studies of IPB University, and the auditor of LPPOM MUI, explained that maltodextrin is a modified starch product used as a food additive and has a wide application in the food and medicine industry. The raw material for making maltodextrin is sourced from plant starches, such as corn, cassava, potato, or sweet potato starch.

Maltodextrin manufactured by plant starch by hydrolysis using acids (chemicals) or enzymatically. Its function is to cut plant starch to be simpler. Hydrolysis with acid results in unspecified shearing. Therefore, hydrolysis using the enzymes that are of most interest to industry. The source of the enzyme can come from plants, animals and microbials.

“If the source of the enzyme comes from plants, the process of extraction or isolation of the enzyme needs to be a concern. Regarding the solvent used to extract / precipitate the enzyme, if it is used in the form of ethanol, the ethanol source must be ensured that it does not come from the alcoholic beverage industry (khamar),” said Suryani.

The enzymes derived from animals also must be sourced from animals slaughtered according to Islamic Law. Enzymes produced from microbes must pay attention to all the constituent elements of the media for microbial growth, from refreshing media to production or fermentation media.

The process of harvesting and refining enzymes cannot escape the scrutiny. It must be ensured that the additives or auxiliary materials used are free from elements of impunity. One of the risks is the maltodextrin refining process which can involve the use of activated charcoal (activated carbon). This material must be ensured that it does not come from forbidden goods. 

However, we don’t need to worry about that. In Indonesia, a variety of sweets, chocolates, and caramels are available that are certified or labeled as halal by the MUI. This means that all substances contained in these products, including maltodextrin, can be ascertained as halal.(YN)

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

For security, use of Google's reCAPTCHA service is required which is subject to the Google Privacy Policy and Terms of Use.