Wine Without Alcohol, Is It Halal?

Some time ago, people were busy discussing the circulation of wine-like drinks that are said to be guaranteed to be halal. The editors of the Halal Journal also received many questions about this matter. How does the MUI respond to this? (HalalMUI)

Some time ago there was a wine drink that was claimed to be halal. In fact, the product was also presented in an exhibition event entitled sharia life style which was held in Yogyakarta, last October 2018.

This Espora-brand drink is said to have originated in Spain. The manufacturer claims that the drinks are halal and non-alcoholic. It has even been halal certified. According to marketers, Espora wines are made through the same fermentation process as the typical winemaking process. However, what makes this Espora different and does not contain alcohol, that is, the time it takes to carry out fermentation.

Pranya Paramitta, Area Manager of PT Global Nara Sadhana, an Espora importer company, said this non-alcoholic wine does not contain any alcohol at all and is made like wine or champagne. The alcohol content that arises in wine is related to the length of fermentation time, usually more than three years. Wine can be produced without alcohol when fermented for only a year. “So, only the juices are filtered,” he said.

Furthermore, Pranya explained that the faster fermentation time makes the wine have an expiration date. Wine without alcohol can be stored for about three years at most. This is in contrast to the average wine that is stored for decades to enjoy. Usually wines that have alcohol content exist after more than three years of fermentation, while wines without alcohol only take a year of fermentation.

Pranya explained to reporters that the wine labeled Espora Zero Alcohol was produced in 2012. The non-alcoholic wine produced in Spain received a halal certificate in December 2015. Initially, wine was produced due to the large demand from Dubai, United Arab Emirates. After that, non-alcoholic wines grew in popularity until they penetrated Southeast Asia. (HalalMUI)

In Dubai, it is said that lussory brand wines are already in circulation, which are packed with luxurious bottles coated in 24 carat gold, and are touted as halal wines. “Lussory is a 100 percent halal wine product with an alcohol content of 0.0 percent,” as reported by 7Days from its maker, Lootah Premium Foods. The grapes used to make these halal wines are grapes that come from a plantation in La Mancha, Spain.

Wine without alcohol and claimed to be halal also entered Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia, in 2014. Then, this wine was introduced in Indonesia in November 2016 at the SIAL InterFOOD exhibition in Jakarta, as well as an exhibition in Yogyakarta, at the end of 2018. “This wine is expected to enter and be distributed to the country in March 2017,” he explained.

According to marketers, that type of wine allows vegetarians and alcohol-sensitive people to enjoy. In addition, this non-alcoholic wine is low in sugar. Because, wine as a raw material for wine is picked when it is young. The more ripe the grapes, the more sugar content.

In terms of texture, non-alcoholic wines are not as close as wines in general. The texture is very light with a non-pungent aroma. The level of concentration or sugar content in a glass of wine can be measured by turning the glass before drinking. If the liquid quickly drops after turning, the sugar content and the level of density are very low. The reverse formula applies to wines with high concentrations. The grapes used to produce wine come from gardens in La Mancha, Spain. (HalalMUI)

Cannot Be Halal Certified

Responding to the circulation of wine without alcohol that is claimed to be halal, the Chairman of the MUI Fatwa Commission (KF), Prof. Dr.H. Hasanuddin AF, MA., emphasized that the product cannot be carried out halal certification.

Hasanuddin AH then gave signs, that his party would not process halal certification for tasyabbuh products or resemble products forbidden in Islam. That is, the wine mentioned above, even if it is claimed without alcohol, still cannot be declared halal.

Previously in 2015, MUI Fatwa Commission also discussed the submission of halal certification from beverage producer. However, because the products produced by them were tasyabbuh with beer products that had been agreed upon by the scholars at MUI, the application was rejected.

“There is one product that in terms of materials and production processes used there is no problem in the halal aspect. However, in the study of fatwa MUI, the product similar to beer drink that has been agreed to be forbidden in Islam, both in color, taste, aroma, and even bottle packaging.” We cannot process the halal certification submitted by the company, although we also do not declare the product to be haram. Because it does not use haram materials,” he said.

Deputy Director of LPPOM MUI Ir. Muti Arintawati, M.Si emphasized that Espora wine products have never been get an MUI halal certificate. “It’s not true that it is MUI halal certified. We cannot accept halal certification registration for such products,” he said.

She referred to the Decree of the Director of LPPOM MUI Number 46 of 2014 concerning Provisions for Writing Product Names and Product Forms. In addition to the Decree of the Board of Directors, there are also Halal Assurance System Criteria (HAS) which are guidelines for all LPPOM MUI halal auditors in serving halal certification.

In the HAS Criteria in the “Products” section, it is emphasized that the sensory characteristics/profiles of the product must not have a tendency to smell or taste that leads to haram products or that have been declared haram based on MUI fatwas.

The Decree of the Director of LPPOM MUI explained in detail that product names that cannot be certified include product names that contain liquor names. In this group, non-alcoholic wines, champagne, rootbeer, rhum raisin-flavored ice cream, and 0% alcohol beer, definitely cannot pass halal certification. (HalalMUI)

Product names containing the names of pigs and dogs and their derivatives, such as roast pork, fried pork, beef bacon, hamburgers, hotdogs. Although it does not use ingredients derived from pigs and their derivatives, the naming of the product as above, also cannot be done halal certification.

Another prohibition contained in the decree is the name of products that contain demonic names such as devil rawon, ice pocong, kuntilanak chicken noodles. Just like the point above, these names can’t qualify either. Likewise, product names that lead to things that cause confusion and confusion, such as Valentine’s chocolate, Christmas biscuits, Gong Xi Fa Cai noodles, as well as product names that contain words that have erotic connotations, wlgar and/or porn.

However, the above provisions have exceptions, so they do not apply to products that have become a tradition, or are widely known and are certain not to contain forbidden elements. For example, pletok beer, meatballs, noodles, bakwan, bakpia and bakpao.

On the other hand, there are also product brands that contain other illegitimate product names, but are allowed to be certified. For example, the brands Garuda, Bear, Crocodile, Cap Badak. Product names that contain the words sexy and sensual but can be certified, for example pinky sexy lipstick, amber sensual lotion, and sensual spa. But, the provision prohibits the use of pig and dog animal forms for products to be certified halal. Forms of products or packaging labels that are erotic, vulgar and or pornographic in nature should also not be submitted for halal certification. (FMS)

Source: Halal Journal, 136


Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

For security, use of Google's reCAPTCHA service is required which is subject to the Google Privacy Policy and Terms of Use.