Look at The Halalness of Energy Drinks!

Besides having to pay attention to the halal side, energy drinks are also known to contain taurine which must be known from its origin. Taurine can be of natural origin and can also come from animal bile. Now, this animal must be known for its origin, whether halal or not. (HalalMUI)

In a television advertisement, a group of young people who were exercising looked tired and lacked energy. Not long ago another young man approached and laughed at a group of young people. At that time he also issued energy powdered drink products from his pocket and immediately the young people who had just arrived immediately demonstrated a sports movement that immediately made a group of young people stunned by the effects of these energy drinks.

A little advertisement on the television gives us an idea that how “miraculous” is the energy drink that by just drinking it our body becomes energetic and energetic. Not only that, but some similar products also give almost the same picture as the advertisement, by drinking a few sips immediately we feel energized.

The phenomenon of energy drinks is inseparable from the historical story of the energy minister itself. Starting in 1960 in Japan, Taisho Pharmaceuticals began developing the medicinal tonic drink under the name (Lipvitan – D) which contains various vitamins, niacin, and taurine. The concoction is what makes and encourages the body to create energy quickly.

Another energy drink, Kratingdaeng, was found in Thailand by Chaleo Yoovidhyta and began to be marketed since 1976. In 1987, Austrian Dietrich Mateschitz was interested in kratingdaeng and began marketing this product worldwide with the Red Bull trademark.

In Indonesia alone energy drinks began to bloom in the 1990s, namely the entry of lipovitan from Japan and extra-joss marketed in 1994 and followed by Kratingdaeng in 1997. Several years behind other trademarks such as M-150, Kuku Bima, Hemaviton and several other brands such as Enerjos are participating in the market for energy drink products in Indonesia. (HalalMUI)

Content of Energy Drinks

Energy drinks contain several main ingredients, namely water, sugar, caffeine, taurine, ginseng, ginkobiloba, vitamins, and minerals. The portion and concoction of each brand of energy drinks is different, depending on the variants and formulations of the company.

How it works energy drinks is to provide a stimulus to the body to provide energy in activities. Substances such as caffeine and taurine contain amino acids to aid metabolism. So it is not uncommon after drinking energy drinks that our body will feel energized and have the energy to carry out activities.

For Muslims, halal is one of the main reasons for consuming energy drink products. Choose energy drinks that are halal certified by LPPOM MUI. Can be seen from the MUI halal logo listed in the package.

“Because the taurine content in energy drinks must be known for its origin. Taurine can come from natural (natural) or synthetic. Natural usually comes from animal bile, this animal must be known for its origin, whether it is halal or not, “said Ir. Nur Wahid M.Sc., Senior Auditor of LPPOM MUI.

Wahid added that vitamins in the womb must also be clear. The vitamins currently circulating are mostly derived from synthetic vitamins or microbial products. It is rare to find natural vitamins that come from nature. Microbial processes that are often used in producing vitamins always use media to grow these microbes. The material contained in these media can come from unclean and unclean ingredients if the media is used illegitimately, then the product it produces will also be haram.

“In unstable vitamins, coating coatings are often added to protect the vitamin so that the activity and its properties do not decrease by the influence of light or high temperatures. The material can come from gelatin which must be halal critics, whether it comes from animal bones such as cows or pigs. So it must be clear the origin and slaughter process if it comes from cow bones,” Wahid said.

In addition, the flavor and flavor of the flavor is also a material that must be considered halal because it can only use raw materials that are not clear halal. (HalalMUI)

Right Dose

Consumer knowledge in consuming energy drink products must also be considered. Don’t just want to catch up on the freshness and power effect consumers don’t pay attention to the right dose in its use. Because the wrong one could be the body that will get side effects. In essence, consuming energy drinks with the right dose and frequency, will not have an effect on the health of the body. But if it’s excessive, it’s certainly not recommended.

Most energy drinks contain caffeine, which when consumed in high doses will cause a variety of short-term side effects. The caffeine content per bottle of energy drinks varies greatly, from 50 mg to 505 mg.

Therefore, one can drink too much caffeine. Normal reactions that occur when too much caffeine enters the body include increased heart rate and blood pressure, dehydration (in some cases), headaches, and difficulty sleeping.

“If this is the case then besides halal, thayib must also be considered. Don’t because you already think it’s halal, you forget the thayib. The point is not to exceed the recommended dosage on the product packaging,” Wahid said. (AH)


1 thought on “Look at The Halalness of Energy Drinks!”

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

For security, use of Google's reCAPTCHA service is required which is subject to the Google Privacy Policy and Terms of Use.