Come on, Let's Look at the Critical Point of Halalness of Eid Snacks

  • Home
  • Come on, Let's Look at the Critical Point of Halalness of Eid Snacks

Eid al-Fitr is the most awaited moment for Muslims around the world. The majority of Muslims prepare various types of confectionery on that day. One that never escapes is pastries as a typical Eid snack. Usually, this confectionery becomes a dish for guests who travel to the house.

These confectionery are often homemade. Therefore, the maker can select the materials used by themselves. Even so, some key ingredients have a halal tipping point. Let's review them one by one.

Wheat flour is one of the main ingredients for making pastries. This ingredient is rich in carbohydrate content, however, it contains very little vitamins and minerals. To enrich its nutrient content, several food additives are often added as wheat flour additives, which include: iron (Fe), zinc (Zn), vitamin B1, vitamin B2, and folic acid. These vitamins change their status to non-kosher when they are produced microbiologically using non-kosher media.

Then, margarine is made with a plant fat base. In the manufacturing process, there are often stabilizers, dyes, and flavor enhancers added that need to be criticized for halalness.

Granulated sugar goes through several stages, ranging from the process of extraction, purification, evaporation, crystallization, to drying. The stages of this process have the opportunity to use decolorization materials that use activated carbon.

"If this activated carbon comes from mining products or from wood charcoal, then it is certainly not a problem. However, if you use bone charcoal, it must be ascertained the halal status of the animal's origin. The activated charcoal used must come from halal animals slaughtered according to Islamic law," said Dr. Ir. Mulyorini R. Hilwan, M.Si, Halal Audit Quality Board LPPOM MUI.

Another ingredient that is often a topping or cake mix is cheese and chocolate. Cheese comes from the milk of a cow, sheep, goat, or camel. Then microorganisms are needed (such as: rennet enzymes, pepsin, renin, renylation) in the process of clumping milk.

"The rennet enzyme used can come from microbial or gastric processes of calves. If it comes from a microbial process, it must be ensured that the medium used for microbial growth does not contain forbidden ingredients. Meanwhile, if it comes from the calf's stomach, the way of slaughter is the determinant of its halalness, "explained Ir. Muti Arintawati, M.Si, President Director of LPPOM MUI.

In chocolate, it sometimes requires an emulsifier in the manufacturing process. This material is derived from vegetable or animal products. In addition, the use of flavors, lactose, and whey is also commonplace in chocolate. Lactose and whey are critical ingredients because they can come from the by-products of cheese production that may use illicit ingredients in the manufacturing process.

This can be anticipated by continuing to choose products with packaging labeled Halal MUI. If you are not sure, the halalness of the product can be checked through the website, Jurnal Halal magazine, or HalalMUI Apps on Android.

Do not forget to pay attention to the condition of the undamaged, leaking packaging and turbid syrup. The validity period or expired date must also be considered so that the syrup we will consume is not only halal but also safe (thayyib) for consumption. Let's choose kosher ingredients, at least to take care of ourselves and our families. (YN)

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

For security, use of Google's reCAPTCHA service is required which is subject to the Google Privacy Policy and Terms of Use.