Pork Bone Broth Flavor Vegan Ramen, Can It Be Halal Certified?

Social media was shocked by the circulation of a photo of an instant ramen product with a packaging labelled “pork bone broth flavour”. The instant ramen manufacturer claims its product is vegan and includes the halal logo of one of Japan’s Halal Certification Body (LSH). Even though it is proven vegan, can the product be certified halal?

Corporate Secretary Manager of the Assessment Institute for Foods, Drugs and Cosmetics Indonesian Council of Ulama (LPPOM MUI), Raafqi Ranasasmita, explained that all packaged food and beverage products circulating in Indonesia must have a distribution permit from the National Agency of Drug and Food Control (BPOM), in where BPOM only recognizes the inclusion of the MUI halal logo or the Halal Product Assurance Agency (BPJPH).

“The use of vegan flavours with a sensory profile like pork cannot be certified, so the tonkotsu instant rice noodle (vegan) product with pork bone broth flavour definitely cannot be distributed officially in Indonesia by including the halal logo on the packaging,” said Raafqi.

One of them identifies the problem of using names and ingredients, consisting of four points. First, products may not use names and/or food/beverage symbols that lead to disbelief and evil. This regulation is under MUI Fatwa Number 4 of 2003 concerning The Standardization of Halal Fatwa.

Second, products may not use names and/or symbols of foods/beverages that refer to the names of objects/animals that are forbidden, especially pork and khamr, except for those that have been in the tradition (‘urf) and are sure not to contain elements that are prohibited such as the names of meatballs, noodles, bakwan, bakpia and bakpao.

Third, the product may not use mixed ingredients for foods/beverages components that give rise to the taste/aroma (flavour) of objects or animals that are forbidden, such as pork-flavoured instant noodles, bacon-flavoured (pork preserved by salting and smoking/drying), etc.

Fourth, products may not consume food/drinks that use the names of forbidden foods/beverages, such as whiskey, brandy, beer, etc.

Furthermore, Raafqi said that the reason for including the halal logo needed to be clarified to the relevant producers and the institution that handles the halal certification process for this product. “There may be differences in standards between Indonesia and certification bodies from other countries. We urge the public to continue to consume halal-certified products with a distribution permit from BPOM so that they are guaranteed from a halal perspective and food safety,” he explained.

As one of Indonesia’s Halal Inspection Body (LPH), LPPOM MUI has the HAS23000 halal certification standard and scheme, including product naming standards. This standard has become a reference for many Halal Certification Institutions worldwide. In carrying out the halal certification process, LPPOM MUI consistently applies the 11 Criteria for the Halal Assurance System, known as the Halal Product Assurance System (SJPH). This standard is used as a standard for implementing halal certification in Indonesia.

Currently, in Indonesia, many packaged food and beverage products are circulating that have halal certificates. LPPOM MUI provides a Halal Product Check platform to make it easier for Muslim consumers to find alternatives to various halal products. You can access Check Halal Products on the website or the HalalMUI application, which can be downloaded on the Playstore. Good luck! (YN)

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

For security, use of Google's reCAPTCHA service is required which is subject to the Google Privacy Policy and Terms of Use.