Distinguishing Nabeez And Khamar

Recently, the Indonesian virtual world went viral discussing a beverage called NABIDZ, which is believed to resemble wine in terms of packaging, taste, and aroma. The beverage has received a halal certificate through a self-declaration procedure.

Generally, nabeez is consumed because it has many benefits. As reported by various sources, nabeez has many benefits, such as removing excess acid in the stomach, restoring the body’s digestive system, and helping the body get rid of dangerous toxins.

Apart from that, Nabeez water also has high levels of fiber, so it can help the digestive process and improve your mind so you do not forget things easily. Nabeez is also believed to control blood sugar, reducing the risk of diabetes, heart disease, and cancer.

Even though nabeez is halal for consumption, there is a chance that nabeez will be wine. To avoid mistakes in consuming nabeez, LPPOM MUI Expert who also serves as Head of the Halal Science Center IPB University, Prof. Dr. Ir. Khaswar Syamsu, M.Sc., shared the aspects that differentiate between nabeez and khamar.

In terms of manufacture, there are already significant differences between nabeez and Khamar. Nabeez is made from water-soaked with dates or raisins (dried grapes), now commonly called infused water, not date juice.

“Then, the wine is made from grape juice. “Industrially, yeast is usually added to wine drinks to speed up the fermentation process and can convert sugar into alcohol (ethanol) and carbon dioxide gas,” explained Prof. Khaswar.

Meanwhile, beer is made from barley (a type of cereal), which is given water until it germinates (malt), then extracted into the wort, which contains simple sugars (glucose, maltose, maltotriose, etc.) and fermented using yeast (yeast) to produce beer containing ethanol.

From Abdullah bin Umar RA, Umar once said, on the pulpit, Rasulullah said, “Indeed wine is made from grape juice, raisins, date shoots, millet, wheat, and corn. I forbid you (to drink) any intoxicating drink.” (Sahih Hadith Muttafaq’ alaih)

Even so, the process of making nabeez requires special attention. As in the soaking process for more than three days, the water resulting from the soaking will ferment spontaneously and produce by-products in the form of alcohol (ethanol) and turn into wine even without adding yeast (microorganisms). This is confirmed by various research that has been done. However, the ethanol content is still low because it is fermented without adding yeast inoculum.

Based on various research, the Indonesian Council of Ulama (MUI) issued MUI Fatwa No. 10 of 2018 concerning Food and Beverage Products Containing Alcohol/Ethanol, which states that only ethanol derived from wine cannot be used for halal products because it is haram and unclean.
If it does not come from the wine industry, other types of ethanol may be used with the restrictions set out in the fatwa. For example, synthetic ethanol or non-khamar fermentation industrial products. It is also stated that the ethanol content in the final beverage product is tolerated at less than 0.5% as long as it is not medically dangerous.

As Muslim, we should live halal lifestyles. One of them is continuing to consume and use halal-certified products. You can search for halal food and beverage ingredients via the website or the HalalMUI application, which can be downloaded on Google Playstore. (ZUL)

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

For security, use of Google's reCAPTCHA service is required which is subject to the Google Privacy Policy and Terms of Use.