Halal Critical Point of The Ingredients of Ifthar Menu

Preparing the ifthar becomes the special thing for every Moslem. However, it does not mean all the ingredients can be used. As a Moslem and clever consumer, we have to be able to choose which one the halal and good to be consumed. Some of the ifthar menus, such as kolak, gorengan (fritters), es buah (cocktail), and other sweet beverages.

Basically, in Islam, the law of anything that brings beneficial is permissible. However, some products have been through certain processing that requires additional ingredients. This article will review some of the ingredients that are often used in the ifthar and Eid menus.

Fruits, vegetables, and spices are included into uncritical ingredients list (positive list). Means that those are halal to be consumed as long as have not gone through any processing.

Another ingredients is brown sugar made from neera. As for the process, only physical processing is experienced, such as hardening. This process does not mix any additives, so they are still included in the uncritical material category.

If it is not brown sugar, white sugar is often an option. To get to become sugar, the sugar cane needs to go through several stages, starting from the extraction process, purification, evaporation, crystallization, to drying. These stages of the process have the opportunity to use decolorization materials that use activated carbon. Similar to sugar, vegetable oil also goes through purification stages that use activated carbon.

“If this activated carbon comes from mining products or from wood charcoal, then it certainly won’t be a problem. However, when it uses bone charcoal, it must be ascertained the halal status of animal origin. Active charcoal is haram to use if it comes from the bones of haram animals, or halal animal bones that are not slaughtered according to Islamic Act,” said Dr. Ir. Mulyorini R. Hilwan, M.Si, Advisor of Halal Audit Service Directorate LPPOM MUI.

Nowadays, many products have obtained MUI halal certificates, marked by the MUIL halal logo on the product packaging. This can be selected ingredients for your ifthar and Eid menus.

“The existence of the MUI halal logo indicates that the product has undergone a series of inspection processes and is free from unclean and non-halal materials, “said Nadia Lutfi Masduki, Promotion and Education Manager of LPPOM MUI. (YN)

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

For security, use of Google's reCAPTCHA service is required which is subject to the Google Privacy Policy and Terms of Use.